The Day Has Finally Come!

EtalkFive, four, three, two, one… It’s finally come! The final class trip of the year, the one we’ve all been waiting for! Nothing is better than a free trip to Toronto to go shopping and be on a national TV show seen by teens across the country. But also to learn about marketing, advertisement and many more things! So overall, a learning experience I’d say.

Friday morning was when it all started. All arriving before 7am to catch the bus or else we’d be waving everyone goodbye, or so we were told. With a 3 hour bus ride ahead of us and what did everyone wanna do at 7am? Apparently not sleep….cause thats what I had in mind. Everyone was quite awake I’d say. But I can’t really complain because I myself, was having good time with everyone, joking around in the back and whatnot. On our way to Toronto we made a quick pit stop at one of the on routes because really, you can’t have a roadie without Tim Hortons! Hitting the highway again, we continued our way to downtown Toronto.

Finally making it to the famous Dundas Square, we boarded off and parted our ways to start a scavenger hunt. But before most did so, we stood there in awe of all the ads that were presented in this square. This was advertising at its finest and nothing like what most of us would see in a city like Kingston. Prior to this, I had remembered that to have an ad put up in Dundas, it would cost a corporation/business over a million dollars. So standing there, I kinda thought to myself, is it worth the million? Will people pay attention to these ads that are shown? because if you think about it, who walks through the square daily? The answer would be people who live in Toronto. So if you walk in the square everyday, are you really gonna pay attention to what these ads are saying? So this made me continue to think and then a thought came to me. The ads could be targeted to not those who live in the heart of toronto but to those to tour and come from out of the city ? These were just some questions running through my mind that day.

The next thing on our agenda was to visit FUSE Marketing Group. This group/team of people helps businesses around the marketing/adervtising world.

FUSE – http://www.fusemg.com ||  MuchMusic http://www.muchmusic.com/tv/

me and ryme

Leave a comment